I KNOW THEIR NEEDS BECAUSE I ONCE STOOD WHERE THEY STAND NOW

May 4, 2009 § 1 Comment

Part III of My Journey

After coming clean and being set free from my drug abuse problem I made the conscious decision to dedicate my life first of all to Christ and then to others still caught up in the vicious cycle of drugs. I made the decision to volunteer full time at Impact Direct Ministries, the organization that initially helped me. It was a difficult decision to make because I still owed the banks money and had other outstanding debt owed to other creditors that I needed to pay. Pastor Petersen encouraged me to stay on, reminding me that there were many people out there that needed to hear my story…my testimony.

I had faith and knew God would provide.

Impact couldn’t pay me because the funds just weren’t there at that time and still aren’t. Although Impact Direct Ministries is doing so much good work in this and many other communities they are not being funded by Social Development. All the services that Impact provides are free yet Social Development refuses to give us funding. I’m inclined to believe their lack of support is mainly because we are a faith based organization.

Now, two years later I am still volunteering at the Impact Center and today I can see the fruits of my decision. I still don’t earn a wage but am lacking nothing. God has been faithful and has supplied all of my needs. My joy and payment come form seeing the lives of others transformed and reconstructed just as mine was. Recently I have been offered several high paying jobs but refused them. I was also offered my old job back at L.G Electronics but did not take it. I know that God has placed me at The Impact Centre for a reason and I don’t want to miss it.

We can so easily miss what God has in store for us. I really think that the devil was trying to distract me from what God has in store for me. I am trusting GOD that the Impact Centre will receive funding for the wonderful work they are doing in the communities. I trust God that He will provide for me so I can continue to do what I have come to love to do, Help Others In Need!!!

Helping others has become my passion and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Helping others also brings healing to me and makes me realize that there are those standing where I once stood and that they need my help. In helping others it has become apparent to me that going back to drugs isn’t an option for me.

In the past I did so many things to so many people that I wish I could take back but I cannot. That, however, is the past and today is a new day. I cannot change what I have done to others, and maybe they will never forgive me. What I can change is the life of someone else. This is my way of giving back and empowering people and communities I at one time disempowered through my actions.

§ One Response to I KNOW THEIR NEEDS BECAUSE I ONCE STOOD WHERE THEY STAND NOW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I KNOW THEIR NEEDS BECAUSE I ONCE STOOD WHERE THEY STAND NOW at A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH ONE STEP.

meta

