In Loving Memory of Ivan Ross

June 15, 2009 § 2 Comments

On Monday evening as I was finishing my final meeting of the day, I received a really distressing call from Craig, my brother in Christ. Craig’s father had just passed away. This was shocking for all of us as his dad had not been sick. His passing came suddenly and without warning.

Craig’s father, Ivan Ross, Uncle Ivan to me, was a loving father, hard worker and a good husband to his wife. I cannot recall ever hearing Uncle Ivan raise his voice. He had a soft and gentle spirit, a good sense of humor and showed compassion to others.

I left the Center immediately to go to Craig’s house to support him. On my way there I stopped by my moms place to tell her what had just happened. When I got there I saw that one of her friends was visiting and as we talked, our conversation began to center on the thought that life is so short and we have to be prepared to meet our Lord when our time on Earth is over. I used the opportunity to make a point of the fact that Jesus is the only way into Heaven (John 14:6) and that she needed Him in her life. She has since committed her life to Christ. I believe she realized that she could no longer risk not having Jesus Christ in her life. We all need to be prepared for when Jesus comes to take us home.

The realization came to me clearly that I need to spend more time with my loved ones while I have them still here with me. This has been an eye opener for me and I’m sure, for all of us.

Ivan Ross, will be greatly missed by all of us. Our prayers and love go out to the entire Ross family. We pray that God saw this good family man coming with his hand reaching to take God’s hand and that in that moment God reached out His hand of mercy to welcome Ivan home. We continue to pray for blessings on the Ross family and ask God to give them the strength that they require to get through this difficult time.

To all the saints out there, let us keep the Ross family in prayers.

God bless you,

Brent

Note: Craig is @CraigRoss316 on Twitter if you care to send him a message. Otherwise, please remember him and his family in your prayers.

§ 2 Responses to In Loving Memory of Ivan Ross

  • Dawn Allcot says:

    My condolences to you, Craig, and his mom. That is very sad. I have been following your journey and it is very inspirational.

    I am glad you were able to take away some good — and fond memories of Ivan — from a very bad thing.

    Your post reminds me of a Garth Brooks song …

    “If tomorrow never comes, would she know how much you loved her…”

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and Ivan’s family.

    • Brent Williams says:

      First of all,thank you for the condolences and for your kind heart.We all really appreciate it especially Craig.

      Thank you for following the Journey and thank you for commenting on BrentsJourney.

      God bless and may He give you the desires of your heart.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Loving Memory of Ivan Ross at A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH ONE STEP.

meta

