MY THOUGHTS AND EXPECTATIONS ABOUT THE MEN’S CAMP

June 22, 2009 § Leave a comment

As I sit down to write this I am anticipating the upcoming men’s camp for Bezaleel Church. The purpose of this camp is to encourage and inspire the male members to take their responsibility as men and fathers seriously as their role in the Kingdom of God. My role at this camp will be different from usual roles at the other camps in which I’ve participated. At other camps my role has been that of a facilitator. At this one, however, my role has been designated as a Man of Service (MOS). This means that my presence there will be purely to serve the pastors, leaders and other men facilitating the Bezaleel Church Camp. I, along with other Men of Service will be there to make the job of the facilitators as easy as possible and to make it pleasant and comfortable for them so they can focus solely on the processes that will take place there.

My expectations for this camp are basic….I want to serve and honor these church leaders  as they take time out, away from their families, to come and learn more about the real meaning and responsibilities of manhood. It does my heart good to visualize how these men will begin implementing what they learn, not only in their own homes but throughout their communities and beyond.

My goal in serving these men to the best of my ability is to have my service make a difference well beyond the event. Whether it be to carry there luggage, make their beds etc. I will consider it an honor to do so. Jesus said, ‘I came to serve and not be served.”

My life goal is to become more like Christ and this is one of the ways I will draw closer to my God and my goal. Serving my fellow brothers in Christ will strengthen my walk with God.

This camp will be blessed well beyond the actual event as the participants, myself included, take what we learn out into the world. What I will bring home is the heart of a servant of God and the ability to continue to serve wherever I go.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MY THOUGHTS AND EXPECTATIONS ABOUT THE MEN’S CAMP at A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH ONE STEP.

meta

