GOD HAS POINTED ME TO THE MENTOR I WAS MEANT TO HAVE

August 11, 2009 § 2 Comments

Last weekend was a very special weekend for me. I spent it with a family from my church. My going there was not for a holiday, but rather to ask the family a very important question. No, it was not to ask for their daughter’s hand in marriage or any such thing.

The head of this family, Angus Goddard happens to be an elder in our church and I basically went there to ask him if he would be willing to be my spiritual mentor. I’m currently at a place in my life were I need guidance in certain decisions I am going to be making in both my spiritual and personal life.

I’ve been asking God to show me who I should ask for guidance, who the best person to mentor me would be. Elder Angus is the person God pointed me to. Not only was I to ask the head of the family if he was willing to walk with me on my journey, I had to ask the family as well. Because this was ordained by God, the whole family has accepted me into their family with open arms.

I had a blessed weekend with this family and they made me feel quite at home. It felt as though had known them for ages and have grown up with them. This, having been ordained by God, it just felt so proper and so right. Elder Angus, his wife and I spoke at great length on the Friday evening. They told me all about how they met and got married and how God had arranged and ordained their marriage. It was very encouraging to hear their story and what God has done in their lives. We spoke on many topics until the wee, small hours of the morning. I was so inspired by this spiritual couple

I appreciate not only their time but the warmth and compassion with which they welcomed me. I’m thankful to God for directing me to Elder Angus Goddard and his family. While saying thank you, here on my blog, to these wonderful people seems a small gesture for their opening their home and their hearts to this former drug addict and gangster. I know, however, that they can see and do acknowledge what Jesus has done in my life.

While thank you hardly seems enough to say to these wonderful, giving people I will make them glad they have welcomed me into their family and will make them proud to have me as a part of their family. I know there will be more times such as the moments we shared over the past weekend. We are family now and that is what families do.

I will be blogging more about my mentor and his family in the very near future and sharing with you what a wonderful, giving man of God he is.

Thank you Lord for showing me to this wonderful, Christian man and his family.

§ 2 Responses to GOD HAS POINTED ME TO THE MENTOR I WAS MEANT TO HAVE

  • Eli Richmond says:

    I love your site and have been following for awhile now. Since I started using a net book I have trouble fitting your blog on my computer. Any chance you could make a skinier version for us readers using netbooks?

    • Brent Williams says:

      I am currently using the wordpress themes and to be honest,i am not sure how to do what you are requesting.I will be doing inquiries as how to do it.
      Thank you for reading my blog:-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GOD HAS POINTED ME TO THE MENTOR I WAS MEANT TO HAVE at A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH ONE STEP.

meta

