It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it (3 years off from drugs).

January 8, 2010 § 5 Comments

This is me when i was still using.Have been using drugs for +/- 6 years at this stage

and terrorizing the community.

This blog post is so long overdue. On 26th November last year I was clean and off from drugs for 3 years. I first of all want to thank Jesus Christ for carrying me through those years and keeping me off from drugs and safe from harm.

Wow this has been an awesome journey thus far and it did not come without its difficulties. During these 3 years I shed lots of tears. There were times I would be facing some things in my life and would just cry unto God for help and to carry me through it. And God being faithful as He is would always come through for me. In fact God has not yet failed me and I know He never will .But mostly there were tears of joy. There were times I would just sit back and think of the awesome things God has done for me and how far He has brought me. That would be more than enough to bring me to tears.

I thank God for where He has placed me and the awesome people He has surrounded me with. I could have not asked for a better place and church to be at. I now am full time in the ministry with Impact Direct Ministries under the leadership of Apostle Roger Petersen, a man that has played a significant part in my life, recovery and my spiritual walk with God. If someone would have told me 3 years ago: “Brent, one day you will be in fulltime ministry and helping drug addicts.” I would have ended up beating them to a pulp and told them to talk their nonsense somewhere else. But God is to wise to make a mistake.

This is me in a different light.Helping out kids in the community.

There were times when the devil wanted to take me out and derail me but God was always there to carry me through it. And even though it was not nice going through at the time it only made me stronger and wiser at the end.It was all part of the shaping and moulding I guess.It was not easy,but it was worth it.I will keep on serving God no matter what as i know there are great rewards waiting for me (and i am not just speaking about wealth and all of that stuff).  I am now looking forward to see what God is going do through my life this year. Its not about what He can do for me, but what I can do for Him. So I avail my life to God a channel and vessel to use me in whatever way He wishes.

It is important to give thanks and acknowledge what God has done. I dedicate this blog post to God and everything that He has done, is doing and is yet to do through me.

§ 5 Responses to It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it (3 years off from drugs).

  • Tamzin says:

    Brent your journey is truly amazing and one that is really close to my heart as I know either of a family member or a friend who is on substance abuse. As a Christian I understand completely that all of this would not be possible if it was not for God. He held your hand throughout this time and He will continue to do so. During your time on drugs I’m sure you can recall so many near death experiences but God had his eyes on you and he protected you. And I’m sure He looks down upon you now and sees His plan working and is in full swing. You play a part in healing so many others and I would like to encourage you to continue. This is your calling and what an absolute privilege and blessing to be working in the House of the Lord. You mentioned in your posts about REWARDS, my morning reading was taken out of 1 Cor 9 and I want to make reference to the following passage vs 25 – “And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obain a perishable crown, but we for an IMPERISHABLE crown.”
    So true-our reward is in Heaven! Let’s strive to get there.

    God bless
    Tamzin

    • Brent Williams says:

      Hi there and thank you for the lovely comment.Yes none of these things things would have been possible without God.Near death experiences:There are so many.Just the one incident when a guy shoved a gun down my throat is enough to make me realize that i am not here by chance,but only through His grace.I am so looking forward to having everything in heaven ONE DAY.All the things that we lack,or think we lack here on earth will be waiting for us in heaven one day.God bless and you keep up the good work that you are doing:-)

  • LeAnne says:

    Brent, God bless you my friend! You have sure come a long way and I thank God for what he has done for you and know He is working on my daughter’s life as well. You help me hang in there and be strong and know that God is in control and working on her heart =]

    • Brent Williams says:

      Wow i am so glad that He is coming through for your daughter.I am guessing that she is coming to church now again as well as her boyfriend:-)God is amazing and we should not stop praying fro our loved ones.Know that you and your family are in my prayers:-)It is testimonies like these that make me want t continue this journey and finishing this race.God bless and may the Spirit of The Sovereign God rest upon your husband as he preaches today:-)

  • Hilary Mak says:

    Love to read your story time and time again Brent; thanks for continuing to let God use it to inspire and bless others!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it (3 years off from drugs). at A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH ONE STEP.

meta